Drupal multilanguage explained

  • Posted on: 20 November 2015

Drupal supports language handling functionality and enables the translation of the user interface to languages other than English. There are multiple modules that enable you to do that in different ways.

In order to enable multilanguage functionality in Drupal the locale module needs to be enabled. After that you will be able to configure languages for content and the user interface and the translate interface to translate the built in interface and optionally other texts.

Content types will also get multilingual support.

At this point you will be able to translate the user interface and to "flag" content that has multilingual support enabled. You can also specify additional languages in Drupal.

You can now enable contrent translation module. This will enable yet another option in the content type edit screen:

Best choice to go for Drupal 7 is to install i18n module. The abbreviation i18n stands for i - nternationalizatio - n. Number of chars in 'nternationalizatio' is 18 . This module gives you the option to choose entity translation above content translation.

The reason to choose entity translation above content translation is:

  • allows things that are not possible in content translation
  • default in Drupal 8
  • uses Field translations
  • 1 node for all languages